GOAL SETTING Part 2: TO DO

February 6, 2009 at 1:54 am Leave a comment

You’ve all heard the definition of insanity: doing the same thing and expecting different results.

In my previous blog I talked about TO BE goals, which is vital for sustaining momentum and keeping the motivation thing happening. I asked you to write about your WHY.

Now that you have established your why, this blog will focus on TO DO goals, which are concerned with setting performance goals based on your outcome goals (the how aspect). Figuring out exactly what you are going to do to achieve your goals involves having deadlines and targets and identifying the specific tasks you will perform on a daily basis.

Outcome goals set your direction. They should be written down before you start and preferably shared with an accountability partner who will check on your progress at regular intervals.

An outcome goal would be: “I will reduce my waist measurement by 5 centimetres within the next 12 weeks”. This is a great goal to have, but how are you going to achieve it? What actions will get you there? Setting ONLY outcome goals is a surefire way of failing.

This is where PERFORMANCE goals come in.

Some examples of performance goals:

I will set my alarm to get up at 6.30 am on week days and go for a half hour walk before I start my day

I will go to bed before 10:00 pm to ensure I get sufficient sleep

I will write out a weekly meal plan on Sunday evening

I will eat every 3-4 hours

I will prepare Low GI snacks in the morning

I will stick to my meal plan each day and eat only the Low GI snacks I have prepared

I will drink mostly water – 8 glasses per day

I will eat protein (chicken, fish, eggs, dairy, nuts, beans) with every meal

I will eat produce (any and all fresh/frozen fruits and veggies) with every meal

I will remove processed foods and empty carbs (high GI foods) from my diet

I will keep a food journal to identify problem foods and triggers

I will balance my food intake with my energy output

I will review each day and reflect on what worked and what didn’t work

I will take responsibility for my choices each day

I will see each day as a new opportunity to make good choices

I will take my measurements once a week and report to an accountability partner

Since most of these performance goals involve behavioural changes I suggest you only make one significant change at a time. Trying to change too many things at once is overwhelming.

Tick off the things you are already doing. If there are some ideas you can easily implement, do that.

Then pick one difficult thing and do it for 10-30 days. This time period will establish a new habit for you. Remember that good health does not come from a diet – rather it is concerned with lifestyle changes which can be maintained over time. Once you have mastered one difficult thing, CELEBRATE – reward yourself. Then pick something else and do it for 10-30 days until you have mastered it.

You might think progress will be slow if you only implement one performance goal per month, but think of how powerful it will be if you IMPLEMENT 12 new performance goals in a year!! Won’t that make a huge difference to your OUTCOME for 2009? Won’t it give you significantly different results from what you experienced in 2008?

Some people say knowledge is power – I think knowledge is only powerful when it is APPLIED. You can be a walking encyclopedia on food choices and exercise but it you don’t actually DO anything it won’t help you one little bit. So set and implement some PERFORMANCE goals.

Here’s to your success in 2009.

Entry filed under: Health and wellness. Tags: , , .

GOAL SETTING Part 1: TO BE HOW TO BURN FAT WITH FOOD

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Connect on Twitter


