Triathlon Report

March 1, 2009 at 3:38 am 4 comments

Hi There!

Today I competed in my first ever triathlon – a womens only triathlon at Hillarys Beach.   When I set off from home at 5.30 am there was thunder, lightening and rain, and it seemed that the weather was going to present a bit of a challenge.  Fortunately the storm was moving inland (east) and by the time we got to the beach (west) it was overcast but fine.   As you can see from the photos, it actually turned out to be a very nice day.

My friend Justine is my inspiration, adviser and encourager.  She did her first triathlon a few years ago.  I remember watching her and thinking “Why EVER would you want to do that?”.  It just seemed like really hard work to me, and not fun at all – although Justine insisted she enjoyed it.  At that time it was just beyond me to even think about doing anything like that as  I was still recovering from chronic fatigue.

My recovery took a boost when I did my first “Great Bike Ride” in November 2007.  I took a few months to train up for it, and the 53 k ride was a huge achievement.   I started training with Rob Cassian’s “Step Into Life” group at Swan View in May 2008.  Rob is a great trainer. The cardio classes really helped develop my running and the strength training built some muscle.  Then in August 2008 I did the 4km section of the “City to Surf” fun run – another achievement.  After doing a second  “Great Bike Ride” in November 2008 I was starting to look for a new challenge and enrolled in the 8 week triathlon training course, starting in January 2009.

I haven’t got today’s triathlon results yet – I will update this post when I do – but I really enjoyed it and was pleased with how I went on the day.  I felt I did my personal best, and I am very satisfied with that.

Justine is the gorgeous young thing in the white T-shirt and white cap that you can see in the photos with me.  My husband Peter was also there to support me, but there are no photos of him, as he was the one with the camera!

Please leave me a comment below, or you can send me an email:  suzimorrisblog@gmail.com.

All the best!

SUZI

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , .

GET SOME HEALTHY FATS Triathlon Results

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  March 1, 2009 at 6:09 am

    Congratulations! You look strong and like you’re having a great time out there.

    Reply
  • 2. Nichole  |  March 1, 2009 at 7:55 am

    WOW! That is so fantastic Suzi!! Coming first – what an achievement! I bet you’re feeling on top of the world tonight!

    Reply
  • 3. Justine  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Suzi is Tri-rific!!! Congratulations Suzi on achieving (and surpassing) your goal to complete the training course and the event. You must have taken inspiration from the dodgey weather at 5am because your cycle leg was like lightening 🙂 The triathlete motto … Swim like there is no bike, cycle like there is no run and run like there is no tomorrow 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. JRP  |  June 7, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I searched for ‘Triathlon Photos’ and found your site – well done!
    JP
    jrpix.com.au

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Connect on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


