Archive for April 18, 2009

How fast are you?

manual-typewriter1I learnt to type in high school, on an old manual typewriter.  If you made a mistake, it was a major job to fix it.  Most often you had to completely retype the letter/memo/report/whatever.

When I went to work I learned to use electric typewriters, then electronic typewriters which had a small one-line screen so you could correct your mistakes before they hit the page.  Phew!

Finally computers came into the office with dedicated word processing packages, which morphed into the desktop computers we use today.  computer-keyboard

I find that it is really an asset to be able to touch type.  It means that I can keep my eyes on the copy while I am typing and do not have to watch my fingers or keep taking my eyes backwards and forwards between the copy, my fingers and the screen.

My typing speed per minute is: 91 words

What is your typing speed? Do you know? Test yourself and find out.Speedtest

With the speed test you can test your typing speed. Of course you will not get an 100% accurate result, but at least a clue where you are. Try it again and again, and with time you will get faster, that is because, since the words that you need to type, are the most frequently used words of the English language. The faster you can type these words, the faster you will also type ordinary texts.

Let me know how you go by posting a comment on this blog.

April 18, 2009 at 4:42 am Leave a comment


April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930