Archive for April 29, 2009

CHRONIC FATIGUE – EXERCISE

It’s a double-edged sword when you’ve got chronic fatigue.

You’ve got no energy. You want to be doing things, but you can’t. When you do too much there’s a horrible “whammy” effect – totally drained of energy and a dreadfully sluggish aching body with sore muscles that lasts for days afterwards. There is no such thing as normal recovery time when you have chronic fatigue. It can take nearly a week to recover from even a moderate exercise session.

It doesn’t help to rest. The less you do the less you feel like doing, then the less you are able to do. One of the keys to recovery is to keep trying. My doctor spoke to me about “moderation” and “balance”. He said it just a matter of energy in and energy out. Yeah, right!! All the normal equations just don’t work when you have chronic fatigue. I found it varied on a daily basis. One day I COULD do something, the next day (same diet, same amount of sleep) I just COULD NOT do it! It was so frustrating!

My mantra became – do SOMETHING every day.

Prior to having chronic fatigue I had been working out on a home gym. Once I had chronic fatigue there were some days when all I could do was the stretching session I would normally have done BEFORE I started my workout. If that was all I could do that day, I at least did that. Some days I could do more, and they were good days. You have to reduce your expectations. Your body cannot perform as it once did – you physically hit a wall, and that’s it ….. no more energy.

Don’t wait until you FEEL LIKE working out – you’ll be waiting forever. Your muscles will atrophy, you’ll lose your flexibility and balance and then any movement will be difficult. Do SOMETHING every day. Keep yourself moving and stretching. Keep trying to do more. I often did not feel like working out, I did not enjoy working out, and I didn’t feel great afterwards. But when I didn’t bother to work out – I didn’t feel any better for it. I didn’t have more energy for other things. I didn’t feel positive or powerful or in control. When I didn’t work out I felt more tired and more depressed. I found I was better if I did something rather than nothing.

And by keeping on with it, by doing whatever something you are able to do, and adjusting your diet and nutrition and many other little things you gradually find that you are able to do more…… and more. You feel stronger and better, and gradually you get well.

One thing I MUST mention, as it has been a central factor in my being able to make progress with the exercise, is the use of a non-sugar laden energy drink (EMPACT) to extend my stamina while doing workouts, and a post-exercise recovery aid (SPORT). For more information about these, go to mannapages.com/suzi, click on Browse Products, and choose Performance Nutrition. Or contact me on mobile 0418 189 435 or email suzimorrisblog@gmail.com.

There is one other very important part to this exercise session, but I will make that a separate post, called EXERCISE MINDSET.  Stay tuned for this very important factor.

April 29, 2009 at 1:33 pm Leave a comment


April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Top Posts

Connect on Twitter